The Door County Historical Society is a not-for-profit organization of more than 400 members dedicated to keeping history alive for future generations through the collection, preservation, and sharing of the heritage of Door County.

Our Mission

The Door County Historical Society strives to collect, maintain, and share the history and heritage of Door County through preservation, education and programming. The Society operates two interpretive sites: Eagle Bluff Lighthouse in Peninsula State Park and the Heritage Village at Big Creek in Sturgeon Bay.

The society meets monthly from April until November in different places throughout the county. The monthly meeting, held the fourth Monday of the month*, consists of a dinner, a brief business meeting and a program relating to local history. During winter months, the society meets twice on Saturdays in February and March for programs on lunch.

Eagle Bluff Light Station Museum offers daily tours and special events. The Eagle Bluff Light Station is located within Peninsula State Park at 10249 Shore Road, Fish Creek, Wisconsin.

At Heritage Village at Big Creek, the society hosts historic programming and special events during the brief Door County summer. Visitors are able to walk through the buildings during a self-guided tour.
Heritage Village at Big Creek is located next to Crossroads at
2041 Michigan Street in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin.

A Board of Directors and Committees, comprised of society members, oversees the finances and projects of the society which include maintaining and operating the Eagle Bluff Lighthouse Museum, Heritage Village at Big Creek, and the Hanson Norwegian Homestead. The society also occasionally publishes The Peninsula, designates historical sites throughout the county, and provides educational programs for the community schools and groups.

The public is welcome and encouraged to participate in any of the society’s activities.

%d bloggers like this: